My Way

I recently stopped at a fast food place with my son and his friend following a late afternoon round of lasertag.  As I saw the two boys open their burgers and simultaneously pluck out the pickles, a little jingle from my childhood rang through my head.  If you are old enough you may remember it, too:

“Hold the pickles, hold the lettuce, special orders don’t upset us, all we ask is that you let us serve it your way…”

It occurs to me that as much as we talk about the importance of the customer generally, and more specifically donor-centered fundraising in the nonprofit world, businesses and nonprofits keep handing us our burgers with pickles without even bothering to ask us if that’s what we want.

Unlike hungry boys after lasertag, adult donors don’t have a desperate hunger to give to organizations that ignore the needs and interests of potential contributors.  That’s the theme this month of my little ode to an oft-recurring theme in fundraising these days entitled “Or The Highway” over at the Fundraising Sherpa blog.  Please take a look and share your own fundraising pickle stories!

